Akers Team Takes Home 14 Journalism Awards

Published On: February 9th, 2024

Akers Media proudly presents the winners of the 2022-2023 Excellence in Journalism Awards from the Florida Press Club Excellence in Journalism Competition. At the annual gala held on January 27 in Clearwater, outstanding journalists from across the state were recognized for their exceptional work in photography, writing, and design.

We congratulate this year’s winners, including Creative Director Michael Gaulin, Graphic Designer Shawnee Coppola, Digital Editor Cindy Peterson, Managing Editor Roxanne Brown, Contributing Writer Gary Corsair, and the late James Combs, a remarkable staff writer who was honored posthumously. Each recipient has displayed extraordinary talent, dedication, and professionalism in their respective fields.

We pay tribute to James Combs for his enduring contributions to journalism. Despite battling cancer before his passing in December, he won three first-place awards. His impact on the field will be forever remembered and cherished by his colleagues and community.

The Florida Press Club Excellence in Journalism Competition serves as a platform to honor journalists who embody values of truthfulness, integrity, and excellence in their work.

Akers Media expresses heartfelt congratulations to all the winners for their remarkable achievements and contributions to journalism. We also extend our gratitude to FPC President Anne Geggis for her devoted efforts towards this cause.

Nicole Hamel, Roxanne Brown and Gina Horan accepted awards on behalf James Combs.

Share this article